Sunday, November 30, 2014

I'm Writing This While Watching Tangled...Again.

I heard that Mockingjay (the movie) was out, so I decided to tell you what you're in for, because the movie is supposed to have basically all of the book in it.

The Hunger Games Book 3: Mockingjay

Katniss Everdeen has survived everything that Capital has thrown at her. Barely. Katniss has been through the Hunger Games twice, being the only female tribute from the 12th Distict. Now she's on her last adventure, to end the life of President Snow. The uprising has grown, and so has the underground 13th district. Acting as the 13th District's Mockingjay, Katniss leads the rebels to destroy the capital--but not everything goes as planned.

Here's the short summary of The Hunger Games Series:

There are twelve districts, ruled by President Snow at the Capital. Every year, the Hunger Games is held. A male and female tribute from each district are chosen, to go the arena and kill people until there is one tribute left. Scary, I know. Katniss and Peeta Mellark are the tributes from District Twelve, the coal and mining district. And in the end both of them survive through both 74th Hunger Games and the 75th Hunger Games, AKA the Quarter Quell. Then Peeta gets captured by the Capitol and Katniss moves to the 13th District, becoming their mockingjay.

Sounds like fun stuff right? Think again.
I had to force myself to read Mockingjay. Without the arena, the book isn't as good. That's why this book got:
** Two Stars
I didn't feel much in this book. The only funny part to me was when Johanna Mason called a character a squeaky mouse. There weren't any really nice parts, it was mostly people dying and more people dying. Then some more people dying. Get the gist? There was basically one thing more that I didn't like. You can't force love, but that's exactly what Suzanne Collins did. The heroes get together, and Katniss and Peeta have kids. You see, the two were forced to love each other to get the audiences' attention. Katniss never really liked Peeta until Mockingjay. I was a bit annoyed.
I did like the boss fighting scenes though. Very detailed.

So that's basically what to expect for the movie.
Have a great week!

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Nerd Time...

We've all had those nerd moments. You can't deny it. A couple of days ago I was playing Bloons Tower Defense 5 (five is WAY better than 4 *cough* nerd moment *cough*) and the whole entire time it was like:

Friend 2: "Oh yeah? I have seven ninja monkeys. You have six."
Me: "Boys, boys, calm down. I have Plasma AND EIGHT ninja monkeys."
[Friend one and friend two roll over to my computer.]
Me: "Watch and learn."

Pretty nerdy week.
Anyway, I have brought a book to you that isn't as nerdy as my BTD week, but it's nerdy to some degree.

Some kids wait for their letter from Hogwarts. Some are seeking out their friend and trying to figure out if they are a can eating satyr from Camp Half Blood. Others are waiting for their letter from Master George. And then some want to be like Tick. Tick is supposed to be any normal kid. That's how it turns out most of the time anyway. But, of course, (you guessed it) he's not. Tick gets a letter from the mysterious M.G., a person trying to secure Tick's loyalty to him. But when you just randomly receive a letter from someone saying that they want to recruit you to work for them to complete dangerous missions, things don't always turn out well.
Welcome to The Thirteenth Reality.

*** Three Stars

This book was amazing for the most part. It was adventurous, funny, and straight up geek awesomesauce. You get to learn a bit about Quantum Physics, described in the book as the theory that there are multiple realities. Which leads to Atticus' (Tick) discovery of the 13 realities. He has to travel through these realities with his two friends to try and stop Mistress Jane from being powerful.
The Journal of Curious Letters is filled with riddles, that I race to figure out before the characters do. It's fun, and I'm usually surprised by the outcomes, which doesn't happen in other books. The characters are portrayed as smart, and if they weren't they wouldn't be in their situation. I did have some problems with the characters though. They aren't as well developed as I wish they could be. They are mostly based off of stereotypes like geek for Tick, chill surfer dude for Paul, and tough chick for Sofia.The 13th Reality was awesome, but it definitely isn't as good as the books to come in the series.

That's it for this week! Happy Thanksgiving!

Sunday, November 16, 2014

Catching Flies!!! Yay!!!!

I'm running out of books.
*Looks to bookshelf*

I found this, collecting dust:

Briony has tried to hide her powers. She knows that someone will die in the end. Including herself. If the public figures out that she has the powers of a witch, Briony will be hung. But if the swamp is drained, things will be worse. The Boggy Man will spread the swamp cough, a deadly disease with no cure, to the small town of SwampSea. If Briony doesn't stop him, her sister will be dead, and possibly the ones she loves. That is, if she really does love anyone. Because it's impossible for a witch to love.

**** Four Stars
I loved Briony. She's witty, smart, and straight up AWESOME! Well, I loved her until Eldric came into the picture. Eldric is basically Briony's lovah, and he is introduced early into the book. He is described as a lion, and Briony is described as a witch that hates herself. I didn't exactly understand...
Anyway, that was the only reason for the down grade, the rest of the book is boss. People who love mystery, action/adventure, and/or creepy books will definitely love this book. You'll sit on the edge of your seat, hide it under your desk at school while the teacher is giving a lecture on boring stuff and read it, and your mouth will be hanging so wide at some parts that you'll start to catch flies.
I'm not sure if that's supposed to be a good thing...
It's a great book, especially if you want to be creeped out a bit. Although I do suggest to not read it after watching a horror movie. Not good for the brain.
The book quenches the thirst for awesomesauce and creepy sauce, and you won't be able to put it down.

Well, i hope you guys have an awesome week!

Sunday, November 9, 2014

The Sushi Post

I'm trying something new this week, but it's still going to be epic.
It's like the fist time I tried sushi...

Anyway, I'll be reviewing a movie this time, which is why you didn't see me on the MMGM Post on Shannon's blog. You know, movies aren't books.
But this movie used to be a comic book, as I just figured out, and it just was released last week, so you'll hear people either raving or ranting about it.
I'll be raving, just to let you know.

BIG HERO SIX is now my favorite movie (along with School of Rock and Guardians of the Galaxy, but that's another story). It's about this kid, Hiro that's a 14 year old who's graduated from high school (*cough* sounds like Keeper of the Lost Cities *cough*). His brother, Tadashi, shows him Baymax, at his 'nerd school', the ultimate personal care taker. Hiro is convinced that he has to go to Tadashi's colledge. He has to create an amazing invention to make it into the school, and comes up with MicroBots, a creation that can turn into anything you think of. What Hiro didn't know was that his invention would cause major destruction.

***** Five Stars
So here's the basics:
The Hero: Hiro, and the group Big Hero Six
The Evil Guy: The Masked Man
Similar Movies: If you liked Guardians of the Galaxy, The Avengers, Tangled, or Frozen, you would love this movie.
Why It was Awesome: Bug Hero Six is basically the first super hero movie Disney's made, so of course I freaked when I saw the preview. It made me laugh, cry, and wish it was in book form so I could chuck it at a wall. It left you literally on the edge of your seat, and then next thing you know, you'll end up laughing so hard the person behind you will end up shushing you--and pushing the seat back up because you're scrunched up on the seat, basically leaving them no room what-so-ever.
what I didn't like: THE FEELS!!! Gosh, the feels... This was the first movie I had cried at--EVER. And when I cry things get ugly. So I was kind of embarrassed by my quiet snorts. Yeah...

Anyway, that's all I have for this week, I hope you have a yummy week filled with sushi (you know, if you actually like sushi...)!

Sunday, November 2, 2014

The Moment When You Know Your Weekend Got Too Interesting

My weekend was very long and interesting. I don't know about you guys, but my week ended like this:

OK, so I know rainbow unicorns are a big thing, but what about RAINBOW GOATS!
(That could be a thing guys! What do you think? *hands microphone*)

But something else amazing happened. I have found a book as awesome as rainbow goats!
Amazing. I know.
And that book is A Whole Nother Story by Dr. Cuthbert Soup

The Cheeseman family has been on the run for a while, from multiple creepy corporate villains that are really stupid. On the other hand, Mr. Cheeseman is a genius that has created an invention that is the reason these villains are on his tail. Him and his three 'relatively odor free' children will go through an adventure filled with awesome recipes for squash and unsolicited advice all narrated by the awesomesaucey Dr.Cuthbert Soup at the National Center for Unsolicited Advice.

Sadly, there are no rainbow goats.
But hey, this book got five stars!
This book was extremely hilarious, even from the first page:
"If I could give you all just one word of advice it would be...well, an incomplete sentence."
"It seems as though every time you turn around, (and believe me, you turn around a lot more often than you might think), someone is telling you how to do or how not to do something. Parents, teachers, classmates, co-workers, know-it-all parakeets, talking snowman, the list goes on."
I laughed really extremely hard, while not being able to put the book down with the endless suspense of who's going to get caught first? Stupid corporate villains or the Cheeseman's? My problem with it? IT ENDED. I was sad. Very sad. :(
This is a good book to read after a very depressing book and just laugh your guts out while never wanting to put the book. (Even if it's midnight.) It's the go to book for laugh and adventure seeking people.

Also a big shout-out to Shannon Messenger for her book Everblaze coming out THIS WEEK! You have permission to freak out and fangirl with me. Go ahead.
Well, that's all I have for this week, I hope you have a good day filled with rainbow goats!

Monday, October 27, 2014

The Word All Heroes of Olympus Fangirls Hate and The Best Excuse I Could Think Of

Ok, I know I'm a little late this week, but hey, it's the beginning of the week, and maybe you need some awesomesauce to make your week a lot awesomer. I also know that awesomer isn't a word, but once again, it's the beginning of the week. As you can see, that is my excuse for almost anything at this point.
Anyway, I'd like you to guess what the word is.
Ok, three ...'s and--
Long already!!!!


The word: BLOOD.
Blood of Olympus.
In case you haven't noticed, I'm done fangirling and chucking the last book of the Heroes of Olympus series at a wall. It took me three weeks to finish it, just for the sole thought of:
So I went through three weeks of this:

Since the beginning, heroes have been conquering the villains and returning back home victorious. Until now, that home has been Camp Half Blood. But now the Romans camp outside the camp, and on August 1st, they will attack Camp Half Blood and start a war between the Romans and Greeks. Each of them are to die out completely. What they don't know is that there is a hero to every villain. Nico and Reyna are destined to bring peace to the warring camps, the Athena Parthenos in tow.
I hope you didn't think that all the problems in the world were solved. Because they aren't.
On the other side of the Earth, the seven are fighting their way to Greece to kill the giants. The group of over ten feet tall creatures don't seem to give up. They throw every obstacle at them, including ones that hit close to home. And them surviving all boils down to one line of the prophecy:
To storm or fire the world must fall.

Most of you will be a bit mad with me. Or Rick Riordan. I prefer the second choice. Here's your score:
Three very freaked out me's. AKA, three stars (***).
Please, by all means, go ahead, chuck your copy of Blood of Olympus at a wall.
The beginning was great, filled with many Percy and Leo moments, which means we get many of the funny awkward moments. I'm referencing Annabeth flashing Leo. I think Percy's rubbing off on Annabeth or something. There are still many many humorous moments, that will send you laughing extremely loud, and then your teacher and peers will give you the, "You have problems." look in the middle of a lecture about the Great Depression. The book is filled with many action and lovey dovey scenes, that don't disappoint.
What did disappoint me was the lack of emotions in his writing. There were multiple scenes that were meant to be heartfelt moments in memory of others, but it didn't get to the readers well. When Reyna was named Horse Friend, I got no feels. I want feels Mr. Riordan! Or when they were fighting, they were like: "For Leo." and that was it. I got more feels when Reyna and Annabeth were having a smart off. No feels there.
Another thing bothered me a bit. There were only perspectives from Leo, Piper, Jason, Nico, and Reyna. No Percy or Annabeth! I'm sad. Very sad. One more thing. (Yes, one more thing guys. Bear with me, ok?) The ending. If you remember the ending to the Last Olympian, the last book of The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, we figured out that Riordan stunk at endings. Sure, the endings to the books in the middle of the series where awesome, especially The Sea of Monsters, but endings of series are awful.
Here's the ending of the Last Olympian:
"She took off down Half Blood Hill, and I sprinted after her. For once, I didn't look back."
I was very sad, and I promptly rushed to the computer so I could buy Heroes of Olympus.
But it gets worse. Here's Blood of Olympus (There's a bit of a spoiler, so if you don't want to read it, just scroll down a bit):
"The bronze dragon spread his wings, and they soared into the unknown."
I thought there was another chapter. I ended up reading the glossary.
I now know what Acropolis means.
I'm not satisfied with the definition. Or the ending for that matter.
But it was good book in the end (not the literal end of course), and I enjoyed it.
Hope you guys have a great week, and get through it, even though a good percentage of us are just using a certain excuse about it being the beginning of the week to brush off the bad parts of your day.
Shake it off, Taylor Swift.

Sunday, October 12, 2014

Attack of the Fangirl

Some of you may know that Rick Riordan has been touring the country...
I WAS THERE!!!!!!!!!
(Let me fangirl for a sec...............
Ok I'm good)

The three days of fandom with Blood of Olympus:

(On the first day of fandom I said to myself)

Before I get My Hands on Blood of Olympus:

Then when I actually GET the Blood of Olympus at 9:00, I'm as ADHD as Leo, bouncing around in the car like,

Anyway, in *partial* seriousness, when I got to go see Rick it was like he had just bottled the gas form of awesomesauce and then, BOOM! that bottle exploded and awesomesauce gas went everywhere. That is a good thing people, a very good thing.
According to my ride, that wasn't a good thing. "I don't get it. A bunch of girls are screaming for a middle aged dork." I was very offended.

To start off, people sponsoring the event went up and did the thank you speech and everything. Then a person walks in and calls up cupcakes. If you guessed Coach Hedge, cupcake for you cupcake! He tells us the rules, no screaming (I kinda broke that rule a million gazzilion times...), biting etc. etc.
Then things got interesting. Rick walked in and we all screamed. I really hope this guy had earplugs. Rick told us his journey of childhood and how he became an author, both of which had awful hair and hilarious imitations. He told the stories of his kids and my favorite, How Haley Thought Fire Was Fun:

So basically Haley stuffs things in a home heater vent and the vent blows up in flames. All the while, Haley is sitting there like:

Next he introduced us to the history of the covers for The Lightning Thief. The very very first draft was awful I must say. It was a very cheesy lightning bolt and a four year old Percy walking away from it.
A video game designer takes the spotlight for a moment and comes up with this:

Then John Rocco walks in and he's like, "Step aside. Boss person coming through." So he draws a 'sketch' of the cover ON A NAPKIN, and gives Rick the napkin and says, "There's your cover." This is what it looked like:
I wish I could give Rick a drawing of Percy on a napkin. Oh, how I envy you John. Seriously.

After, Rick re-introduced us to the new books and characters. "And then there's everyone's favorite, Octavian!" He says all cheery. We all stare at him in silence like, "Rick you've got to be kidding me."
"Just kidding..." The slide changes. "LEO!!!!!!!" All of the girls scream, including me. I start a chant screaming Leo's name, and a lot of people join.
Rick gets us to settle down, and we are introduced to Magnus Chase, the main character of the new series, Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard.
So excited for that. Can it just come out now? Please please please, with Thor on top? :)
Before I know it, Rick is thanking us for coming and walking off the stage. Whoa...over way too fast.
Can we rewind and do that all over again?
Guys, I don't think Kronos likes me.

So, I'm in the middle of Blood of Olympus and so far let me just say that it will not disappoint. As soon as I finish fangirling over it, I'll post a review. I'll try not to be biased, but that might be very hard.

Hope you have a great week. Percy Jackson Fans, maybe your satyr will come this week. :)

Sunday, October 5, 2014

When the World Ends, We Know Whose Fault It Is...

I don't know about you guys, but last week was awesome. Five days filled with interesting academics and easy homework. Sign me up for that! (Oh GOSH...I sound like Hermione Granger from Harry Potter. Oh no...PEOPLE! I made a reference to Harry Potter!!!! THE WORLD IS GOING TO END!!!) And then after that, a four hour road trip. I love road trips!!!! Also I had to listen to my friend randomly scream "CHEESY SPARKLE WAFFLES!!! HEAD BUTT!!!" (While smashing her head into me.) and, "JOHN MAYONNAISE!!!!!" With everyone around us watching. Seriously. Last week was boss. Um...Can you tell I'm rambling because I don't know what to talk about? Because I don't...anyway... *awkward silence* ………

I have an idea! (I mean, I usually do this far into the post...did you guys see it coming? Huh? You must be psychic or something...)

Rory Landon was relatively close to being a normal girl. Except for the fact that her parents were famous actors and she moved around the country like no one's business. And on top of that, her famous parents were divorced. She has no friends. I stand corrected. Rory is not normal. One day at school, a strict person arrives. She comes with news about The Ever After School, a place where almost anything is possible (including my personal favorite, never ending buffet tables. I mean what's better than that?). Rory joins, and finds out that it's not just an ordinary after school extra curricular activity, but a very different story. Or should I say stories?
And welcome everyone, to the world Rory Landon, in Of Giants and Ice.

Of Giants and Ice isn't one of those books that catches your eye and looks completely epic. The cover actually is really bad. (No offense Chloe Foglia) It looks like it came straight out of a children's cartoon. That's why I'm not showing the cover. Once you read the first page you're hooked. The first page is my favorite part. I've read it so many times I've memorized it. Crazy I know. Despite this, Shelby Bach has earned herself *** Stars (Three Stars). It slowed down in the middle, and got a little slower towards the end. It's not exactly boring, but Shelby loses the flare she uses for Rory towards the end. It's still a great book though. If Percy Jackson and the Olympians and The School for Good and Evil were to have a kid, this book would be it. That is some pretty awesome awesomesauce.

How was your week? Any weird encounters with your friends?
Thanks and have an awesomesaucey week!

Sunday, September 28, 2014

Genius of the Week

Ok, go ahead. Take a guess. Who's the genius of the week?

[Insert Jeopardy song here]

If you guessed Shannon Messenger, you get a cookie!!!! (Yay!) Anyway, Shannon seriously gets some awesomesauce from my stash in a secret part of my desk. (I actually think she already has a lot, but still.) Shannon has written two series, Let the Sky Fall and Keeper of the Lost Cities, but this week we're focusing on Keeper of the Lost Cities.

It's kind of pitiful when you know yourself that you're a freak. Like, really pitiful. Sophie Foster has known she was different since she was five, when her killer headaches started. And the cause of those headaches? Human thoughts. More importantly she has crazy abilities no one understands--or so she thinks. But when Fitz, a aqua eyed boy at a museum field trip, shows up, Sophie finds out that's she's not alone. And she's also not human. Sophie is whisked off to a magical land of her kind, where she juggles problems that every normal girl would face. Mostly.

When I started reading this my eyes widened and I was like, "I feel you man!" And then, I was completely hooked. I couldn't stop reading. Ever. The book had to be pried out of my hands at night. In class, I hid it under the table and read it. (This didn't always work out, especially when it was at a funny part, and I started laughing when we were talking about the Civil War. So, don't try this at school. Trust me, it doesn't work. It just gets awkward.) Anyway, I have to agree with everyone who posted their opinions on the Amazon Book Store. This book was amazing. The average for the ratings are five stars, and man, I have to agree with that.

Shannon Messenger introduces you to this new world that we haven't heard about before, and she doesn't leave out a single detail. "Across the river, a row of crystal castles glittered in the sunlight in a way that would make Disney want to throw rocks at his "Magic Kingdom.""

Shannon hits the perfect spot of school, love, action, humor, and awesomesauce. This is an all around book, anyone who reads it usually fall in love with it, and then runs (or speeds) to a bookstore for book two, and soon, book three. (Super pumped!) You can find Shannon's blog on the very bottom of the B.O.B., on the Awesome List, or click here.

Have a great week!

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Cabinets are Overrated. Cupboards are WAY better.

Ok, I realize that some of you might be saying that cabinets and cupboards are practically the same thing. Key word: practically. Cupboards are small cabinets.
Which brings you to a question. Why in the world is Annabeth ranting about cupboards and cabinets? The answer to that amazing question. Is...
100 Cupboards!!

The Goodreads Summary:
"Twelve-year-old Henry York is going to sleep one night when he hears a bump on the attic wall above his head. It's an unfamiliar house—Henry is staying with his aunt, uncle, and three cousins—so he tries to ignore it. But the next night he wakes up with bits of plaster in his hair. Two knobs have broken through the wall, and one of them is slowly turning...

Henry scrapes the plaster off the wall and discovers doors—ninety-nine cupboards of all different sizes and shapes. Through one he can hear the sound of falling rain. Through another he sees a glowing room—with a man strolling back and forth! Henry and his cousin Henrietta soon understand that these are not just cupboards. They are, in fact, portals to other worlds."

N.D. Wilson has created my favorite advanced mystery childhood book of all time. I remember my family saying that I had to read it, and then getting it without me asking for it. It was sitting on my bookshelf, helpfully collecting dust. One day I decided, "What the heck. I'll read it."

I can't say that I was completely disappointed or completely satisfied. That's why Mr.Wilson got *** Three Stars. This book started out really slowly. You get through a quarter of the book or so, and nothing really happens. It was like the soccer game between U.S.A. and Germany in the World Cup 2014. Nothing. Happened. Now, once you get to the end, and Henry actually does something, oh my gosh. Wilson promised a mysterious action filled part, and by gosh, he delivered it. If you get past the boring life and get to the creepy awesomesaucey part, then you are in for a great book.

Sunday, September 7, 2014

Mayonnaise Penguin Hats

I have a question for you guys. WHERE IN THE WORLD HAS THE WEEK GONE?????!!!!!!! I mean, seriously, last week was like this for me:
Monday: *groan* It's Monday...
Sunday: It's Sunday! Poop! I have to write my blog post!
Anyway, I have come to you with a book that just was published in April (APRIL people! Of this year!), and now is on my Top 10 book list. This is the author's first SyFy/Romance book and dang, is he good at writing it. And that book's name is Protostar by Braxton Cosby. [Puts on fuzzy Penguin hat] Let's get blogging.

Failure is not an option. Prince William Derry volunteered to take on the mission of executing the Star Child, Sydney, to reclaim his family's honor. Sydney doesn't know who she is. As far as she knows, she's just a regular Earth girl leading a normal life of shopping and gossiping with her girl friends, until a visitor comes along. His name is William, a bot who was recently caught in the middle of a 'car crash', and ran to the nearest house, that just so happens to be Sydney's. But William starts to feel something he has never felt before. So why can't he finish the mission?

I found out about Protostar at Barnes and Noble, but not how I usually find books, by picking out random books off the shelves that sound interesting. I have this thing about meeting authors in person. If I find a person sitting at a table that has been set up by that same person in the middle of Barnes and Noble, I'm like, "IT'S AN AUTHOR!!!!!!!!!" And I run over there like a maniac and find out which book they wrote, and I won't even care if the book is for my age or not. That was the case for me finding Protostar. I got pumped up and everything, so I had high expectations for the book. Most of the time, books don't meet those expectations. Protostar, met most of those expectations.
***** Five Stars for Protostar (no pun intended). The book has pretty much everything. It's relateable, it's got action, it's got romance, it's got awesomesauce. The characters are well formed, and you get to know them well. When the characters were in danger, I found myself screaming "NO. NO. NO. ... C'MON MAN!" I recommend this book to 7th graders and up, because there is one gross lovey-dovey moment, but I don't want to spoil anything, so I'll just say that it has to do with John Mayor (a.k.a., John Mayonnaise, if you ask me). Overall this book is a page-turner that you will end up sneak reading if you can't read it, and if you can, you'll want to read it like there is no tomorrow. Trust me, I know.

Sunday, August 31, 2014

And I thought the Force of Vacuums Would Never Apply to Percy Jackson Part 2

(Scroll down to the post below to see part 1 of the two part post)
Me: Goodreads, why are your summaries so long?
Goodreads: All to make your posts better, my dear.

Anyway, Percy Jackson and the Olympians started my book reading eternal kick, so without Percy Jackson and Rick Riordan, this blog would be nonexistent. So thanks, Rick! I would be miserable without your books!

The Book:
**** Four Stars
The Lightning Thief is one of my favorite books, but this is only the first book in the five book series. It gets better with each book, and I think the awesomeness peak is at The Battle of The Labyrinth. The beginning is awesome, and Percy is just telling us not to read the book. And I'm like, I feel something stirring inside me. I am SO reading this. So, I suggest, whether you feel something stirring inside or not, read this book.

The Movie:
** Two Stars
Now you have probably noticed that the movie is half the score of the book. The movie has a similar plot, hint the word similar. Percy's mom was taken by the minotuar. In the movie, Percy escapes camp to rescue his mom from the clutches of Hades, and that happens in the book too, but Percy is given a prophecy and is guided out of camp with Chiron and his two companions, Grover Underwood and Annabeth Chase. The movie takes you through a cross country trip to find three pearls, but in the book, the pearls are given to Percy in Santa Monica by a nereid. I suggest reading the book before you watch the movie, and as much as the movie is different from the book, I still love the movie and have watched it a total times of eight. (I know all the lines, and can recite my favorite part)

My favorite part you ask?
Annabeth: "My mother is the goddess of wisdom and battle strategy. Do you know what that means? I never lose."
Percy: "And I always lose. Maybe we're both wrong."
This point I'm like, Percy, kick some Athena butt!
See you next week for a new book that has been created by an author that also has awesomesauce in his pantry.

And I Thought the Force of Vacuums Would Never Apply To Percy Jackson Part 1

Last week was my annual week off deform blogging. Well, I think that's how it's going to play out, but this year is a bit unpredictable with my new schedule with school right now. But I'm trying to pull out the computer every week for you guys.
I thought I'd bust out some awesomesauce this week and try something new. So instead of just reviewing a book this week, I'm going to review the book and its movie. And when I think of that, I think of Percy Jackson. Then I think, HOLY CRUD! I HAVEN'T REVIEWED PERCY JACKSON YET!
The reason I didn't review it yet, is because I'm obsessed. So if I did that first, it would be biased. If i had tried to write it, it would have played out like this:

[typing noise in computer room. Computer reads, PERCY JACKSON ROCKS MY SOCKS!]
[Nerdy me walks in]
Nerdy Me: Your survey is invalid.
Me: I'm not taking a survey.
Nerdy Me: But you're being biased--
Me: Shut up.
[Five minutes later...]
Nerdy Me: You're not writing this post. [grabs computer monitor and I grab the wireless mouse]
Me: OK...

I think you're smelling what I'm selling. We'll have a summary from Goodreads, to make this a wee bit shorter, and then book review, and movie review.

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. And that's the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he's angered a few of them. Zeus' master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus' stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Sunday, August 17, 2014

It's A New Week And I Have Cupcakes

I've been telling myself a lot of things this week. First of all, to stop giving out six stars on every single review, because if I could I would. But I can't so I shan't. And also to not eat that cupcake sandwich with strawberries in the middle. It's not that good Annabeth, step AWAY from the plate.
Anyway, it's been a busy week for me over here. There's school, writing AND reading books, them it's like "Holy poop!! It's Sunday!!!!" Then you know, scramble to the computer to write this post. So I'm trying to sound somewhat composed as I find out something to ramble about. So first let me do the weekly search for a decent book in my bookshelf to review.
Aha!! The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis!

Right now, you probably think you're normal. Well, so did I. I'm Jack McKinley. Relatively normal kid who is destined to die in six months. I have the G7W, a gene that makes you have seriously awesome super powers. Cool, I know. But there's a catch. If you don't find the cure made of 7 Loculuses in the 7 Wonders of the Ancient World, I die. And that task, by the way, is pretty much impossible.

Peter's book is through Jack's POV, like the summary above. I love the way he wrote it, really forming each character's personality. You really get to know Jack throughout the book, and in the second book too. (I'm in the middle of reading it, an it's one of those rare sequels that are better than the first book.) If you liked Percy Jackson and the Olympians you're probably going to like this book. That's why THE COLOSSUS RISES has made it to *** three stars!! The only problem I had with this book is that it wasn't relatable for me. I mean Peter had a challenge here. He was doing a concept that has never been done before, and is not relatable. Partly because we know it's not going to happen sometime in the future. Some of the characters you can relate to, but what they feel, I cannot. But you do sometimes feel bad for the characters. Jack went through a lot of hard adventures, and in the end, I hope it gets better, because then, after all that, there might just be cupcakes!!

Sunday, August 10, 2014

Flop de Flop (I don't know what it really means, but it sounds cool.)

If we have a roller coaster of blog posts, last week and this week are a big part of it. First we're going up the hill with WONDER, then it's like, "NEEEERRRR...KERSPLAT!!!!!!!" with this week's post. Long story short, we have another Flop on our hands. Flop #2 goes to...
Out of the Dust by Karen Heese

The sound of the piano. That is all that matters to Billie Jo anymore. Her mother has died. Her father is a stubborn man who's only goal in life is to grow wheat. Her home--what's left of it anyway--is a dust landfill, one of many during the Dust Bowl. Almost everyone is leaving to the legend land of California, except Billie Jo and her father. How much longer can she live with the raging dust and her quiet father? The only hope is in her hands and heart, the same hands that used to play quick tunes and the heart that used to be happy and in love. Before all the dust storms.

I had to read this one for school, and I didn't have very high expectations for it, because most of the books we are required to read are AWFUL. (With the exception of Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm.) This book is written in free verse poem, a style I didn't enjoy. I mean, if you're going to write a book, I would prefer if you wrote it like a normal person, please. There was a lot of action, but the author didn't deliver the action scenes well. And in the end, that is not good. This book was also a Newberry Medal winner, and probably for the historical accuracy. I found this book rather depressing. It didn't-- how do old people say it? Ah, yes-- tickle my fancy. (I'm kidding, I say that does that make me an old person?) So this book met my expectations at:
** Two Stars.

Have a good week guys! :{D

Monday, August 4, 2014

If There's Anything Better Than Sliced Bread, It's Unicorns. But If There's Anything Better Than That, It's This Book.

So now I have brought to you the bestest book in the universe. (If aliens had a better book, I want it--NOW.) And this book is...
Drum roll please!!!
(OK guys, that's just wimpy. Now give me a REAL drum roll...)
WONDER BY R.J. PALACIO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Guys, this book is like Because of Mr.Terupt on steroids. If there were six stars, Wonder would get seven stars. I cannot scream this from the top of the Empire State Building enough times. (You think I'm kidding.) So I guess I should stop ranting, because I'm pretty sure you don't want to read a whole post of ranting and ramblings.

Most people think they have it bad. Like, "Oh No!I don't know what to wear!" Well you don't know the definition of having it bad. If you look it up in the dictionary, August Pullman's picture is next to it. Auggie has a face deformity that had been "..caused by a recessive mutation in the TCOF1 gene..." that makes kids run and scream and other kids make fun of him. He's been home-schooled by his mother because of that. And then middle school comes along.
August goes to Beecher Prep, a private school near his home in New York. He's welcomed by Mr.Tushman and three students, Charlotte, the nice and smart kid, Julian, the bully, and Jack Will, Auggie's new friend. Really, sending August to middle school is like sending "...a lamb to the slaughter...", and according to Google, that isn't good for August.

I think I already gave you a preview of what Wonder will get this week. So now we get to the suspense...
****** The Never Before Seen Six Stars!!!!! OK, if a tornado with sharks in it is possible (in a movie), than this is possible. Wonder is a moving book sure to touch the hearts of manys. I may sound like a buisness person, but I'm not kidding. I sobbed during this book. (Maybe it was with the help of the dramatic music I was playing, but that doesn't matter.) Wonder rocks my socks. This book is for anyone older than 10 years old, and for everyone, no matter what genre you like. Wonder is realistic fiction with action and heartfelt moments. Wonder is the whole package!

My favorite quote from the book: "Everyone needs a standing ovation at least once in their life, because we all overcometh the world." -August Pullman
(It's my official motto) :)

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Gross Lunches and Homework: Yeah School's Back (Groan...)

For some of us, school's right around the corner. I kind of realized this at the end of the week, so I was desperate to come up with some brilliant idea I could either a), rant about, or b) fangirl about. (OK guys, I think at least one of us has totally FREAKED OUT about a book.) And so on Sunday, The Swing of Things Series was created. The Swing of Things Series features a few books to get you "back in the swing of things" for school. I don't want this post to be super long, so I'll have a summary from Goodreads and then my review. Alright, let's get reading!
Sixth Grade: Glommers, Norks, and Me By Lisa Papademetriou

Allie Kimball is excited to be starting sixth grade. Her best friend is going to be in the same school and she is going to try out for the soccer team. But she soon learns that middle school is a very different world, full of strange new beasts, like glommers--girls who never go anywhere alone--and norks-a combination of a nerd and a dork. Allie realizes it's time to define herself before she gets lost in the sixth-grade jungle. Sixth Grade: Glommers, Norks and Me is a funny and poignant look at sixth-grade friendships, crushes, and trying to define yourself.

What I Thought:
**** Four Stars- Sixth Grade is one of those books that you walk away from feeling you learned something. In short, this book is a bit like one of Aesop's Fables(except for all of the characters being animals). Allie finds herself drifting away from her best friend, Tam, throughout the year, and sees that the new Tam is a very different Tam. Allie makes new friends that Tam has a problem with, so Allie has to deal with that, and all the other lies Tam is telling. After reading it, I realized that it's OK to make new friends and let go of some of your old friends, because people change. As much as I liked this book, it ended way too quickly. On the last page, I thought excitedly, Alright, another chapter! *tuning page* Wait...that was the last page...sad face. And so, the downgrade was necessary.
Because of Mr.Terupt By Bob Buyea

It’s the start of fifth grade for seven kids at Snow Hill School. There’s Jessica, the new girl, smart and perceptive, who’s having a hard time fitting in; Alexia, a bully, your friend one second, your enemy the next; Peter, class prankster and troublemaker; Luke, the brain; Danielle, who never stands up for herself; shy Anna, whose home situation makes her an outcast; and Jeffrey, who hates school.
Only Mr. Terupt, their new and energetic teacher, seems to know how to deal with them all. He makes the classroom a fun place, even if he doesn’t let them get away with much . . . until the snowy winter day when an accident changes everything—and everyone.

What I Thought:
***** Five Stars- The characters may be going into fifth grade, but the experience with the students doesn't change. This book will make you laugh, cry, and scream at the book and chuck it at the wall. (Yes, I know, pretty extreme) You look through the student's eyes, and also as Sharanya put it, "It felt (perhaps unsurprisingly) like I was actually seeing things through the teacher's eyes..."
Because of Mr.Terupt takes you on a roller coaster of the kid's emotions and inside life, from Alexia's experience practically being in the movie "Mean Girls", to Luke's obsession with dollar words. You go inside the children's heads and find out about them. For some people the book may sound lame at first, but I assure you this book is way far away from lame. I cannot say how much I LOVED this book enough. And this is when I go fangirl on you guys.
: )
See you next week!

Sunday, July 20, 2014

This is...WEIRD

Is anyone else feeling like they're super busy this month? Yeah I feel your pain. I had no idea what book to do this week. So I pulled out all the books on my bookshelf I haven't read yet and picked a random book from the stack. That book turned out to be Gordan Norman's The Hypnotists.

Jax is weird. And not just normal weird, but weird weird. Whenever people look into his eyes for a period of time they do whatever he says. Weird, I know. A letter from Dr.Elias Mako is sent to Jax to go to the The Sentia Institute apparently for a ' New Horizon' program. He accepts the offer, and starts to attend the school. He is greeted by Kira, who shows him around and claims that "Dr.Elias Mako has devoted his life to New York City education and is an inspiration to every single one of us". Jax is forced to do multiple standerized tests, and only then does he find out what is wrong with him. Jax Opus can hypnotize people.

I originally found out about this book watching a trailer for it. I was like, "That sounds cool...let's buy it!" (Anybody else realized I'm a sucker for fictional adventure books?) That was a pretty good idea, since The Hypnotists made it at… *** Three Stars. Now, if you remember, that was the same score Fablehaven by Brandon Mull (got, so three stars isn't that bad of a score. Getting three stars is like getting a C in class. There wasn't really any big problems that I had about this book, it was minor problems that annoyed me later. Some of the side characters were not fully developed. Kira and Tommy for example. Kira's jealous of Jax, but that all we know about her. Tommy 's is Jax's best friend, but what else? We don't know. The real action doesn't happen until the last few chapters, and we only have a few moments of action before that. Otherwise, Mr.Korman keeps those pages turning, and get a reaction from readers with his word choice on multiple occasions.

: ) See you next week!

Sunday, July 13, 2014

Part 3 of the Heroes and Villains Blogging Chronicles: Glittery Swords, Evil Butterflies, and a Pretty Pretty Prince

So you're probably wondering what bizarre book I have brought to you today. I mean, swords can be glittery, and I have met some pretty evil butterflies (one tried to lick me :0), but why would an old time Prince trying to get a date to a ball want to be a guy's version of a Pretty Pretty Princess? (And yes, I am referring to the old board game that no one plays anymore.) Well the answer to your question: The School For Good and Evil is back! If you missed Sophie and Agatha on their first escapade, then you can check them out at Part 1 and part 2 of The Heroes and Villains Blogging Chronicles.

After returning to Gavaldon, Sophie has a big story to tell. But her version of the story is NOT what happened. She's a heroine to the whole town. In the midst of all her fame, Sophie makes a wish. Which was the worst thing she could have chosen to do. Thousands of arrows come soaring down from the woods, destroying everything. One of the arrows brings a message: BRING US SOPHIE. Sophie and Agatha have to move to the church, the only safe haven in town. But when the town has had enough of the assault, they force Sophie into the forest, giving her to the attackers. And Agatha goes after her.

All Agatha wants is to go home with Sophie. Then again, she really doesn't. She wished for Tedros, not Sophie, and in her heart she knows that. Then why is she at the School For Girl and Tedros' whereabouts are unknown? Agatha has to stop The School For Girl and the School For Boy from engaging in war (which the new Dean seems oblivious to), and find out where her loyalties lie, Sophie or Tedros?

After book 1, I really HAD to read this book. The day after I finished THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL, I already had A WORLD WITHOUT PRINCES on my bookshelf, fresh from Barnes and Noble. And two days later I closed the book officially (sad's going to take a while for book 3 to come out). And now I have come to you with a review.
**** (Four Stars) So why was the second book down graded? This book is almost as great as the last. I still love Agatha, but now she's in love big time, not making her the hilarious and boyfriendless (and she wasn't looking for a guy) girl we knew her as. It took a lot longer to get the action up and running than in Book 1, and I definitely had a problem with that. Soman Chainani had a couple of mysteries that were figured out at the end of the book, and I figured them out WAY before they were revealed. (I'm talking about very beginning of the book) The rest of the book was extremely boss, and I have no problems with that. I can't wait for book 3, and the SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL movie.

In case you missed it, Shannon Messenger is selling Exile EBooks for only 1.99! That's incredibly insane! And the audio book is only 3.99! Also Crazy! I say you get them before the offer is over, on the 31st!

Sunday, July 6, 2014

The Name Of This Post is Secret

Some of the really good books are made just as a little something for someone instead of beginning as a published book. One of these books is The Name of This Book is Secret.

It originally started as just a story to a kid at an elementary school, W.P. May. The school had organized a Writing Partner program, where adults and children in fourth or fifth grade exchange letters or stories, etc. May had wrote plenty of things to Pseudonymous Bosch, the author of the Name of This Book is Secret, including a comic strip about chocolate for P.B. And Mr.Bosch had nothing to write for her. So, he came up with The Name of This Book is Secret.

Cass and Max Ernest have no idea what they've gotten themselves into. (Wait--was I not supposed to mention their names?) When a box filled with a dead musician's belongings comes into Cass' grandparents', Larry and Wane, store, a danger from two mysterious people dawns upon the world. This object is only the beginning of evil forces, and only survivalist Cass and Magician/Comedian in training Max Ernest can stop them. But do are you brave enough to open this book and read it? I'm warning you--The Name of This Book is Secret.

(Cue the evil laugh)

Okay. This Book by Mr.Bosch is simply brilliant. There probably is no other word to describe it. (Besides AWESOMESAUCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) So anyway, Pseudonymous made it at **** (Four Stars). The book is great and hilarious, no doubt about that. If you haven't read this book, I say you should add it to your TBR (To Be Read) list. It's fun for adults and kids, as young as third grade. Why this book didn't make five stars--the ending was awful in my perspective. I usually hate endings, but this one just wasn't good. Thank you, you just gave the permission form for my mommy to sign so I can go on another life-threatening adventure! Yay! For a period of time, I said that I wasn't going to read the next book. But if you're going to read the first book, I say you read the next. If you can get past the bad ending and pick up the next book, please do. So if Mr.Bosch had fixed up the ending, then the book would have made the highest rating.

Saturday, June 28, 2014

Flops Part II

For this review, I'm going to make it a little different. I am going to interview myself, Ms Foster being the interviewer. being the one interviewed. But if you missed Part 1 to Flops, click here.

News Cast Reporter: "On today's episode of Blog of Books, our own Ms Foster will be interviewing the author of the B.O.B. To you Ms Foster." [Cameras switch to cozy room with two people sitting in it.]

Ms Foster: "So, what did you think about The Friendship Doll by Kirby Larson? On a scale of one to five, what did you think of it?" "I'm going to be straight forward with you Ms Foster. I would give it a one; the book didn't really have what a book needed. I wanted a climax in this book, and I wanted a solid plot. That means I need a problem and solution. The problem was mentioned in the blurb, but not in the book. Plus, it was just dry, really."

Ms Foster: "So you expected more?" "Yes for a book that's won awards and so has the author, I expected more. I pumped myself up for a mystery, as it said so on the back, but I was mistaken. No mystery there. So for the readers, I wouldn't hope for something you're not going to get."

Ms Foster: "So if you were to recommend this book to someone, who would you recommend it to?" "Someone who likes the book Steal Away Home by Lois Ruby, or someone who doesn't like action adventure books or mystery books. Ages nine to twelve."

Ms Foster: "Here's a question from one of the viewers: Do you like cheese?" "What kind of question is that? Everyone likes cheese!"

Ms Foster: [Mumbles] "I don't like cheese." "Shame on you!"

News Cast Reporter: "That's it for today, folks! Next week we'll tap into our magical sides with The Name of This Book is Secret!"

First of the Flops

Every now and then I stumble upon a book I did not enjoy as much as other people did. To me they are flops, where as most people are like "Oh my gosh! I love this book!" And then they act all excited, and start quoting or fantasizing about it. (This applies mostly to One Direction books, which really aren't literature, and I don't read those, but let's not get off-topic)

I found my first flop when I was reading last year's Reading Club's list, and usually the books on them are good. Well, this time a book wasn't working the magic for me. I enjoy pretty much any book I pick up, ranging from nonfiction to pumped up fairy tales, so a book I don't like is practically impossible. And The Friendship Doll by Kirby Larson did the impossible.

Ms Kanagawa's story begins in the workshop of Master Tatsuhiko. She is the last doll Master is going to for the rest of his life, and one of the first dolls to touch the hearts of girls from Japan to America during the Great Depression

First stop: New York City
Bunny is supposed to give the speech to introduce the dolls at the Opening Ceremony, but the heir of President Roosevelt takes her place. Bunny had practiced so much in the warmth of her mansion, and at school, to earn her dignity back. At the Ceremony, Bunny seeks revenge by dropping an object on the stage to distract Belle Roosevelt from finishing her speech. The plan seems perfect, until a voice speaks inside her head to not drop the item. The voice of Ms Kanagawa.

At the Chicago World's Fair, Lois, has gotten to go by the skin of her teeth. She had been invited by her Aunt Eunice. Her aunt has interests in drinking tea and looking at dolls, and Lois is the exact opposite, being interested in airplanes and Amelia Earhart. She couldn't go with her dad anyway. They were too poor to pay. When Lois'aunt drags her into the new Japanese doll exhibit, a particular doll keeps talking in her mind. Ms Kanagawa tells her to use her quarter to buy something for Mable, her Lois' best friend, who could not come, instead of riding the Sky Ride.

In Kentucky, Willie Mae's only hope are books. Her family is suffering from The Great Depression, and when she gets a job reading to an old woman, it's a miracle. But there's always a down side to life. Mrs Weldon isn't very fond of people, much less kids. It takes a while for Mrs Weldon to be fond of Willie Mae, but she finally realizes how much she loves Willie Mae when she is sick. Mrs Weldon gives Ms Kanagawa to her when Willie Mae is sleeping. She dies with Ms Kanagawa in her arms.

The last girl we see is Lucy. She moves to Oregon from Oklahoma when her mom dies. Lucy teaches people how to write for money in her free time when she's not at school. Then the bombing of Pearl Harbor hits the country. During the school field trip to the local museum, Lucy finds Ms Kanagawa. She visits her again and again after that. She speaks to Lucy, giving her the gift of a life lesson: Do not give up when things are hard. She listens and that is the right choice. As you can see, Ms Kanagawa is quite the helper.

Coming Soon: The review of The Friendship Doll!

Sunday, June 22, 2014

Part 2 of the Heroes and Villains Blogging Chronicles

Alright, before we get into reviewing THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL, I would like to thank whoever is reading this blog. 200 page views already????? :D Yay!! Okay so yeah, thanks guys.

And now we find ourselves at the review for THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL.
Here's what Soman Chainani gets for his debut:
***** FIVE STARS!!!!!
Alright, you guys know I rarely give out five stars. So you're probably thinking oh, this book must be really good. No kidding. It IS. I had heard about the SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL on the Amazon Book store, making 4 stars for an over all review. Pretty good for his first book right? So I decided to read it. Sophie and Agatha did not let me down.

The girls' stories are unpredictable. And if i read ahead, nothing made sense, forcing me to read it all the way through. Which is good, so you actually read the book. (And yes, it does make sense when you read all of it. Besides you won't want to skip a single page.) Maybe it does have a bit of a slow start. But by the time you get to chapter 2 (specifically page 31), you hands will never leave the grip of the book. An asteroid could have hit the Earth and you would not have noticed. That's how good it is.
Here's what one of the readers thought:

"Soman Chainani has written a beautiful and enthralling novel that will appeal to every age out there because it has a bit of everything, action, romance, the meaning of friendship and everything else in between. You will never read a book like this one, Soman Chainani has written a one of a kind novel that will amaze you. I just loved this book. Loved it. LOVED. IT. And can I just say, that ending made me cry." Says Louisse @ The Soul Sisters.

I couldn't agree more. No one will be able to recreate the greatness of Soman's work. He has a real, strong bond between Sophie and Agatha like no other. These two will do anything to get in the right place, and they work together till the end. The Tale of Sophie and Agatha may not be a classic fairy-tale, but it has deserved to be an equally wonderful work of art to the world. If you had to ask me what the best part of the book was, I'd have to say the whole book! This book has gotten to the best sellers list in a year, so I think just that speaks for itself. If you haven't read the book, you need to run to the nearest library or bookstore so you don't miss out on anything.

I'll have the summary and review of Book 2 within the next few weeks! Next week we'll take a blast to the past with The Friendship Doll!

Sunday, June 15, 2014

Part 1 of the Heroes and Villains Blogging Chronicles

Now that we've visited Dead City, I think we should make a rather long stop at one of my favorite places for special kinds of people. Next to Camp Half Blood, Foxfire, and some creations of my own, The School for Good and Evil has me enchanted as all get out. They are actually two different schools, one for Good, and one for evil. In each school students get different training. Evil has co-ed classes like "Henchman Training" and "Curses and Death Traps". Good is separated by gender, boys having Sword Training (something I extremely envy) and girls having Animal Communication (a class I would fail miserably).

Just a heads up, for this week's summary, it's going to be different. First, I'll have the intro, then a description of three characters who take a big part in the book. That will be our summary. Then I'll put on part two, the review. Here we go!

There are no mistakes in this world. Although Sophie is convinced there is one when a shadow drops her off at the school for Evil. She's a princess, from her glittering green eyes to her flowing long hair. Her best friend Agatha, however, was dropped off at the school of Good, which is where she was supposed to go. When Sophie sets her eyes on her Prince, Tedros, the son of King Arthur, she knows she has to get over to the School of Good. And nothing will get in her way.
Tedros is waiting for someone to see past his looks. Every girl is practically drooling over him, begging to get his rose at the welcoming convention. The rose means you're dedicated to that person, that you like them. When his rose accidentally lands in a ugly pale girl's hand, he has to live with that mistake. Then he makes failed attempts at tests on the heart, just like his dad. That's the last thing he wants to do.
Agatha, the misfit of the school, is now back at base 1. Everyone hates her with her pale, anorexic ugliness. She thinks that the School For Evil is her home. She had lived in a graveyard for all of her life. Really all Agatha wants is to go back home with Sophie so they can forget about this crazy world, filled with walks and packing cucumbers. When desperate times call for desperate measures, Agatha steps up to help her friend, which is what only a Good person would do.
And that's it for today! We will have part two of The School For Good and Evil later this week containing the review!

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Omaha!!! Wait no.... Omega!! BINGO!!!

Welcome back to the Blog of Books! This week's review (if you read last week's you would know what book, you can check it out here) is on Dead City By James Ponti, A story of a girl who's just discovered who she is. And well, that says a little too much...a little too weird. Molly visits the morgue on a regular basis. She's a mastermind in fencing and just in general smartness, going to a school that's practically home for all these brain filled people; MIST school. (Yes, that's actually the name.) It's also home to the biggest ZOMBIE fighters in the history of history. Unfortunately, in New York City, zombies lurk on every underground corner. Molly gets caught up in this deadly mess [you know zombies are dead so it's a DEADLY mess. ; )], fending off zombies on undercover missions, fencing and karate maneuvers, and occasionally a flat iron. With brains and friends on her side, almost anything is possible. Almost...
As that concludes our summary for this week we reach our review. You guys know the drill. **** Four Stars for Molly and James Ponti I love the book. It's filled with action and kept me on the edge of my seat, and I nearly died when Molly went to the zombie party. I loved how [author name] developed Molly's social life, from The Seven Swans to the Omega Team. The Ending has a great cliff hanger, which in my book now means throwing the book down and saying "Arrrrrrrggghhhhhh!!!" Then, screaming downstairs, "Mom! I need the second book!" Now I'm criticizing myself for STILL not getting the second book. What wrong with this book? The only (and yes only) problem I had with it was this: "Stop investigating. Us adults will take it from here." Of course I'm not quoting from the book, but that's the gist. The adults take over and we don't get to read about what happens. Plus, you're taking the biggest zombie problem EVER away from the world's best zombie fighter in the 21st century. I guess I have to read the second book to find out. This book is really for anyone starting at the age of ten. I don't even like zombies and I liked this book. Also you cannot say people don't like this book, because Suzanne Collins recommended it (she's the author of the Hunger Games, a book I might review, but everyone else has already read it.). And well, if she said it was good, that makes the two of us. Next week's review will be reaching out to your inner hero/villain, so be sure to check that out! The signing out!

Sunday, May 11, 2014

So You Think You Know Prince Charming...

Hi guys! Sorry it's been so long, I was finding some new material to review. For this week's book, I will be reviewing the first in its series and then reviewing the rest later. Don't worry, I'll have links to each review on all three posts in case you missed one. Alright know for the mystery book I have been talking about for two sentences. Now three. THE HEROES GUIDE BY CHRISTOPHER HEALY
Here's our summary and review: Everyone thinks they know Prince Charming and their precious princesses. The thing is, they don't. Turns out Prince Charming is actually four princes, and they have names other than Prince Charming. There's Frederic, a prince who will hide under a bush when he sees dirt. Although, that isn't very logical since there is probably dirt behind the bush. In short, Frederic has been raised by a strict dad who gets into his brain. Therefore, Frederic thinks only about etiquette and royal balls which is the same place he met his adventurous fiancee, Ella, aka Cinderella. Ella isn't a blonde stupid girly-girl who cleans happily. Ella is a tough brunette, who is ready for adventure, with her trusty sidekick, her always thinking brain. Across a map in the kingdom of Erinthia, Liam is running away from his destiny. He was betrothed to Briar Rose (Sleeping Beauty) who actually turns out to be a wicked brat. Believe it or not people! And Briar and Liam's parents are trying to have him married for riches. One of seventeen, Prince Gustav finds it hard to do anything right and get credit for it in Sturmhagen. After his fail trying to save Rapunzel, he's the laughing stock of not only his kingdom, but all thirteen kingdoms. So it's a given that he'll try to make up for it. He's got potential, but he'll need help. On the other hand, Duncan of Sylvaria is happily living with Snow White in a cozy cottage. They both find joy in being spontaneous and naming random animals. Snow is getting tired of having Duncan always stick to her side, though. She sends him on a short walk, which will change everyone's fate. All four princes run into each other, and set off on a quest to save the world-- and Ella, although the princes don't know it yet, is doing quite fine being a captive. Later, the League of Princes is formed, and so is the enemy. The same one the League is out to defeat. I'm going to give this book 4 stars ****. The plot is action packed, the characters are well formed, and their bonds are no different. But the best is yet to come. The first book is really just going to set up the next book, which is why I don't suggest reading the books out of order. The plot isn't as brilliant as the others. Therefore, I have to give this book a four out of five. Look out for next week's review of Death City!

Sunday, May 4, 2014

First Review: FABLEHAVEN

Ello my fellow bloggers! This blog's first review is on Brandon Mull's Fablehaven, a thrilling book that connects with not only magic, but Greek Mythology [squeals]. to compose myself before I go off running around the room screaming that I love Greek Mythology. I feel that it's time for a bit of Summary Time with a cup of tea (or Joe, if you're fancy-smanshy like that). Staying at an old mansion with your grumpy grandparents you barely know isn't exactly Kendra and Seth's ideal vacation. They would rather go on an all adult trip on a Scandinavian cruise. Much more...normal. Seth and Kendra have to cope with their ancestors that they barely know, a dusty bedroom with no up to date toys, and--oh my gosh--no cell service. Along with a mystery that Kendra is supposed to figure out on her own, she has to make sure her brother doesn't go off into forbidden areas. Which is pretty much impossible for Seth. With his trusty emergency kit (that stores mostly unnecessary thing such as firecrackers), he heads off into the woods. The fact he ignores the whole "Young man, you better not step a foot into that woods or you will face the consequences" thing, gets him into deep trouble, bringing his sister down with him. The siblings stumble upon a world of beautiful magic. And soon they find out that it's far too dangerous. Too dangerous for even the most powerful to handle... That's our summary, and now I will take on the tricky role of rating the book in stars [*]. You can go ahead and yell at me if I score incorrectly according to your standards. Our first book of the blog gets a rating of [drum role please] *** 3 stars! Now why I gave it the score I did... Fablehaven is a great book filled with action and mystery. The characters are well developed. Brandon uses the normal way to start the story, get rid of the parents and go to a mystical land filled with magic. We got to the mystical world of magic, but it took us a while to literally get to the 'mystical' and 'magic' part. I guess that was supposed to surprise the reader. But really, there was no thought in my mind at the time that questioned if it was a mystical place. It was described as any old mansion; old, dusty, and boring. If it weren't for me reading a textbook on fairies when I was little, I wouldn't have guessed what the things in the garden were. Another flaw that bothered me a bit: the sister-brother relationship wasn't strong enough. It just felt like Kendra and Seth were just friends who were different ages. Sorry Brandon, but it was just a fact nagging me throughout the book. I recommend this book to ages 10 and up, also to the people who like mythical fiction stories.Besides those two flaws, GREAT BOOK!